facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

Visit Grand Popo in Benin and the Mono River

Near the border of Togo, known for its hotels and inns by the sea , Grand Popo is a tourist site in Benin that must be visited. You will discover its immense lagoon there, which you will visit by sailing on the Mono river in a canoe to La Bouche du roi. Depending on the season, you can discover the sea turtle hatcheries on Grand Popo beach and attend the sea turtle festival on January 8 , or attend the voodoo party on January 10 or Pentecost at the community identity party Xwla and Xweda, the Nonvitcha.

What to do in Grand Popo?

Discovery of the Mangrove and la Bouche du roi
In addition to its past as a slave and colonial city which have left vestiges, the main tourist attraction lies in its location near the mouth of the Mono river creating a fluvio-lagoon system made up of the coastal lagoon, the Ahô channel and the lake. Aheme. The meeting of fresh water and salt water offers a fantastic view of the islands and mangroves. The originality of the Grand Popo region is its natural setting which allows you to see a river and the sea at the same time . This tourist site in Benin can be visited by canoe or boat and discover the activities of the populations and participate in particular in crayfish fishing, and discover the traditional villages.
Observe olive ridley and leatherback turtles
From August to March with peaks in November, December and January, you will observe the movements of turtles that come to lay their eggs on the beaches. On January 8, you will attend the national turtle festival established by the local NGO Nature Tropicale, you will be able to visit the hatcheries and participate in the release of the babies after the incubation of the eggs saved from the nests in danger on the beaches by the eco-guards.
Traditional festivals every year
In Grand Popo as in many regions of Benin, you can attend the National Voodoo Festival which is held on January 10 of each year, but also on Pentecost the Nonvitcha festival , an identity festival of the Xwla community to celebrate the unity and brotherhood of the Xwla and Xweda populations.

Where is the city of Grand Popo located?

Originally, Grand Popo was a set of several villages with a sandy ravine that separated the sea from the lagoon. Grand Popo stretches west as a waterway to the Togolese border. Just across the border is Togo's historic town, Aného, formerly known as Little Popo, Little Popo, or Klein Popo, depending on the language. East of Grand popo, the estuary where the Mono river joins the Gulf of Benin, it is called la bouche du roi.

Grand Popo overview

The city of Grand Popo covers an area of 290 km2, has 7 districts and 44 villages. It is crossed by the inter-state road n ° 1 Cotonou - Lomé, asphalted and in good condition, which makes it an essential stopover for your trips to Togo.
Like all coastal towns in Benin, Grand Popo is a historic town due to participation in the slave trade. The slaves were transported by canoe across the lagoon and the rivers to Ouidah to be loaded onto the slave ships, to the Americas.
Today, the economy of the region is based on small livestock, fish farming, poultry farming, fishing, especially shrimps, market gardening, cultivation, corn, oil palm, bananas. plantain, sugar cane, and coconuts. Tourism is a booming sector with hotels and inns in Grand Popo located by the sea, the ideal place to spend an exotic holiday.

The program of our excursions to Grand Popo

These visits are organized in the company of a guide approved by the tourist office of Grand Popo. The price includes the guide, the rental of canoes, participation in any activities and visiting rights. They can be organized from Cotonou on a day trip, or as part of an organized tour

CIRCUIT N ° 1 - DURATION 3 Hours

Biodiversity of the Transboundary Biosphere Reserve

CIRCUIT N ° 2 - DURATION 4 Hours

Grand Popo, La Bouche du Roy and the activities of the inhabitants

CIRCUIT N ° 3 - DURATION 2 Hours

Immersion between Nature and Culture

We suggest that you complete these different excursions with specific options:

Traditional show - 2 hours

ZANGBETÔ ceremony

New Year's Eve

Around the swimming pool by the beach

sales contact: France call center: +33977217817

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Other destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy
Benin Grand Popo |la bouche du roi |Grand Popo tourisme

Visiter Grand Popo au Bénin et le fleuve Mono

A proximité de la frontière du Togo, connu pour ses hôtels et ses auberges au bord de la mer, Grand Popo est un site touristique du Bénin qu’il faut visiter. Vous y découvrirez son immense lagune que vous visiterez en naviguant sur le fleuve Mono en pirogue jusqu’à la bouche du roi. Suivant la saison vous pourrez découvrir les écloseries de tortues marines sur la plage de Grand Popo et assister à la fête de la tortue marine le 8 janviers, ou assister à la fête vodou le 10 janvier ou à la pentecôte à la fête identitaire de la communauté Xwla et Xweda, la Nonvitcha.

Que faire à Grand Popo ?

Découverte de la Mangrove et de la bouche du roi
Outre son passé de ville négrière et coloniale qui ont laissé des vestiges, le principal attrait touristique réside dans sa situation à proximité de l’embouchure du fleuve Mono créant un système fluvio-lagunaire constitué par la lagune côtière, le chenal de Ahô et le lac Ahémé. La rencontre de l’eau douce  et de l’eau salée offre une vue fantastique sur les îles et les mangroves. L’originalité de la région de Grand Popo, est son cadre naturel qui permet de voir en même temps un fleuve et la mer. Ce site touristique du Bénin se visite en pirogue ou en bateau et découvrir les activités des populations et participer notamment à la  pêche aux écrevisses, et découvrir les villages traditionnels.
Observer les tortues olivâtres et les tortues luth 
Du mois d’Août au mois de Mars avec des pointes en Novembre, Décembre et Janvier, vous observerez les mouvements des tortues qui viennent pondre sur les plages. Le 8 Janvier, vous assisterez à la fête nationale des tortues été instaurée par l’Ong locale Nature tropicale, vous pourrez ainsi visiter les écloseries et participer au lâché des bébés après l’incubation des œufs sauvés des nids en danger sur les plages par les écogardes. 
Des fêtes traditionnelles chaque année
A Grand Popo comme dans de nombreuses régions du Bénin, vous pouvez assister à La fête nationale du vaudou qui se tient le 10 Janvier de chaque année, mais aussi à la Pentecôte la fête Nonvitcha, une fête identitaire de la communauté Xwla pour célébrer l’unité et la fraternité des populations Xwla et Xweda. 

Où est située la ville de Grand Popo ?

A l’origine, Grand Popo était un ensemble de plusieurs villages avec un ravin de sable qui séparait la mer, du lagon. Grand Popo s’étend à l’ouest en tant que voie fluviale jusqu’à la frontière Togolaise.  Juste de l’autre côté de la frontière se trouve la ville historique du Togo, Aného, anciennement connue sous le nom de Little Popo, petit Popo ou Klein Popo, selon la langue. A l’est de Grand polo, l’estuaire où la rivière Mono rejoint le golfe du Bénin, on l’appelle la bouche du roi.

Présentation de Grand Popo

La ville de Grand Popo s’étend sur une superficie de 290 km2, compte 7 arrondissements et 44 villages. Elle est traversée par la route inter-état n°1 Cotonou - Lomé, bitumée et en bon état, ce qui en fait une étape incontournable pour vos voyages vers le Togo.
Comme toutes les villes côtières du Bénin, Grand Popo est une ville historique en raison de  participation à la traite négrière. Les esclaves étaient acheminés en pirogue à travers le lagon et les fleuves jusqu’à Ouidah pour être chargé sur les navires négriers, vers les Amériques.
Aujourd’hui, l’économie de la région s’appuie sur le petit élevage, la pisciculture, l’aviculture, la pêche, notamment les crevettes, les cultures maraîchères, la culture, du maïs, du palmier à huile, de la banane plantain, de la canne à sucre, et des noix de coco. Le  tourisme est un secteur en plein développement avec des hôtels et de auberges à Grand Popo situés au bord de la mer, endroit idéal pour passer des vacances dépaysantes.

Le programme de nos excursions  à Grand Popo

Ces visites sont organisées en compagnie d’un guide agréé par l’office du tourisme de Grand Popo. Le tarif comprend le guide, la location des pirogues, la participation aux éventuelles activités et les droits de visite. Elles peuvent être organisées à partir de Cotonou sur une journée d’excursion, ou dans le cadre d’un circuit organisé 

CIRCUIT N°1 - DUREE 3 Heures

Biodiversité de la Réserve du Biosphère transfrontalière 

CIRCUIT N°2 - DUREE 4 Heures

Grand Popo, La Bouche du Roy et les activités des habitants 

CIRCUIT N°3 - DUREE 2 Heures

Immersion entre Nature et Culture  

Nous vous proposons de compléter ces différentes excursions par des options particulières : 

Spectacle traditionnelle -  2 heures

Cérémonie de ZANGBETÔ

Fête  de la saint Sylvestre

Autour de la piscine en bordure de plage 

contact commercial: Centre d'appels France : +33977217817 

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Autres destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org