facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

abomey tourism

By visiting Abomey you will discover the whole history of the Dahomey kingdom which began around the beginning of the 17th century with the Fon, the expansion of the kingdom thanks to the wars of conquest, then by the development of the slave trade, and the fall of the kingdom. in 1892 after bitter fighting against the French colonizer and the deportation of King Behanzin in Martinique.

How to discover Abomey

Response within 12 hours

Description of visits: Discovering the history of Dahomey

We organize with approved guides organized tours of the various tourist sites of Abomey and its surroundings in order to make you discover all the historical and cultural richness of Benin.


These visits take place over one or two days, they include the price of the guide, entrance to historical sites, the museum, possibly a traditional meal, and in the evening a traditional dance show, for example an animation with the exit of the zangbeto.


 

 

Before arriving in Abomey from Cotonou, we suggest you stop to visit the underground village of Agongointo with an area of 7 hectares and which houses 56 underground houses dating from the time of the King of Danxomè Agadja.


After the lunch break, we organize canoe trips to discover pure nature in the hlan forest, which is home to flora and fauna that have become very rare, especially monkeys. In one of the arms of the river rests since 1892 the wreck of a boat of the French colonizers, which had been watched and taken by storm by the Amazons.


These excursions can be organized, either from Cotonou, in this case our prices include the costs of transport Cotonou / Abomey round trip by air-conditioned car , or possibly as part of a circuit in Benin where these visits can take place. integrate into your circuit program.

Abomey, the capital of Dahomé

Abomey, the historic capital of BENIN, formerly called the Dahomey country of West Africa, has known over the centuries successive kings who ensured the development of a powerful and prosperous kingdom. Today the city of Abomey brings together 10 royal palaces grouped together in the same complex and classified UNESCO in 1985 as world cultural heritage.
If the current king no longer has political power within the framework of modern Benin, he remains the The king the guarantor of the perpetuation of the regular development of customs and traditions on the site of the royal palaces of Abomey, he manages the Vodun cult in through the different heads of worship.

Discover the history of the Dahomey kingdom

Abomey historic capital was a center of power until colonization the political, economic and cultural center of Dahomé. This position has contributed over the centuries to the development of activities that contributed to the notoriety of Abomey beyond the borders of Benin.

The voodoo cult was the religion of the rulers, so you can discover many temples and sacred places that allowed the practice of voodoo cult,

The integration during the different reigns of the kingship of the Danhomè of the knowledge and creativity of war captives, this is how any slave who mastered an art or a cult was kept to put his knowledge at the service of the king and the people that traditional craftsmanship has a great importance in Abomey, this is how you can discover within the framework of our visits this type of traditional craftsmanship, from the forge and the jeweler, from the wall hanging, from the woodcarver , weaving, basketry, pottery, shoemaking and participating in dance shows .

Abomey is the story of the wars of conquest of the kingdom, but also the war against the French invader and the epic of the Amazons, elite troops composed exclusively of female warriors who fought fiercely against the French troops.

We invite you to discover all this fascinating history of Benin through visits and circuits accompanied by approved guides.

sales contact: France call center: +33977217817

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Other destinations

LOGO IMTSERVICES WEBMARKETING.png

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy
les rois d'Abomey | Behanzin | amazones du Dahomey

contact commercial: Centre d'appels France : +33977217817 

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Autres destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

01 BP 02143 Cotonou - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

abomey tourisme

En visitant Abomey vous aller découvrir toute l’histoire du royaume Dahomey qui débuta vers le début du XVIIe siècle avec les Fon, l’expansion du royaume grâce aux guerres de conquêtes, puis par le développement de la traite négrière, et la chute du royaume en 1892 après d’âpres combats contre le colonisateur Français et la déportation du roi Behanzin en Martinique.

Comment découvrir Abomey

Réponse en moins de 12 Heures

Description des visites: A la découverte de l'histoire du Dahomey  

Nous organisons avec des guides agrées des visites organisées des différents site touristique d’Abomey et de ces environs afin de vous faire découvrir toute la richesse historique et culturel du Bénin.


Ces visites se déroulent sur une ou deux journées, elles comprennent le prix du guide, l’entrée des sites historiques, du musée, éventuellement un repas traditionnel, et le soir un spectacle de danse traditionnelle par exemple une animation avec la sortie des zangbeto.


Avant d’arrivée à Abomey en provenance de Cotonou, nous vous proposons de vous arrêter pour visiter le village souterrain d’Agongointo d’une superficie de 7 hectares et qui abrite 56 maisons souterraines datant de l’époque du Roi du Danxomè Agadja. 


Après la pause déjeuner, nous organisons des promenades en pirogues à la découverte d’une nature pure dans la forêt de hlan qui abrite une flore et une faune devenues très rares notamment des singes. Dans l’un des bras du fleuve se repose depuis 1892 l’épave d’un bateau des colonisateurs français, qui avait été guetté et pris d’assaut par les Amazones. 


Ces excusions peuvent s’organiser, soit à partir de Cotonou, dans ce cas nos tarifs  intègrent les frais de transports Cotonou / Abomey aller/retour en voiture climatisée, ou éventuellement dans le cadre d’un circuit au Bénin où ces visites peuvent s’intégrer à votre programme de circuit.

Abomey, la capitale du Dahomé

Abomey la capitale historique du BENIN autrefois appelé le Dahomey pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest, a connu au cours des siècles des rois successifs qui assurèrent le développement d’un royaume puissant et prospère. Aujourd'hui la ville Abomey regroupe 10 palais royaux regroupés dans le même complexe et classé l’UNESCO en 1985 comme patrimoine culturel mondial.
Si le roi actuel ne dispose plus de pouvoir politique dans le cadre du Bénin modern, il reste le Le roi le garant de la pérennisation du déroulement régulier des us et coutumes sur le site des palais royaux d’Abomey, il gère le culte Vodun à travers les différents chefs des cultes.

Découvrir l’histoire du royaume Dahomey

Abomey capital historique a été un centre de pouvoir jusqu’à la colonisation le centre politique, économique et culturel du Dahomé. Cette position a contribué au cours des siècles au développement d’activités qui contribuèrent à la notoriété d’Abomey au-delà des frontières du Bénin.

Le culte vodou était la religion des souverains, ainsi vous pourrez découvrir de nombreux temples et d’endroits sacrés qui permettait la pratique du culte vodou,

L’intégration au cours des différents règnes de la royauté du danhomè des connaissances et de la créativité des captifs de guerre, c’est ainsi que tout esclave qui maitrisait un art ou un culte était conservé pour mettre ses connaissances au service du roi et du peuple que l’artisanat traditionnel a une grande importance à Abomey, c’est ainsi que vous pouvez découvrir dans le cadre de nos visites  ce type d’artisanat traditionnel,  de la forge et le bijoutier, de la tenture, de la sculpteur sur bois, du tissage, de la vannerie, de la poterie, de la cordonnerie et participer à des spectacles de danses.

Abomey, c’est l’histoire des guerres de conquête du royaume, mais aussi la guerre de contre l’envahisseur Français et l’épopée des amazones, troupes d’élites composés exclusivement de femme guerrière qui lutèrent avec acharnement contre les troupes françaises.

Nous vous proposons de découvrir toute cette histoire passionnante du Bénin à travers des visites et des circuits accompagnés de guides agréés.