facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

The history of Lake Ganvié

According to legend, the origin of Ganvié is linked to the tribal wars and slave raids of the 17th century. The first inhabitants arrived from Togo with their king Agbogdobé in 1717. The powerful king in Vaudoun, metamorphosed into a hawk, flew over the lagoon and discovered the island of Ganvié. His subjects who remained on the shore could not pass. He then did another magic that transformed him into a crocodile, thus carrying his subjects on his back. Since the crocodile is sacred in Ganvié!

More recently, the creation of the communes of Sô-Ava and Aguégués is the result of a migratory movement of populations which led to the settlement of the southern region of the current Republic of Benin. These include the migration of Dakomènou and Sokomènou who at more or less frequent intervals have taken up residence on Lake Nokoué and its surroundings.

The particularity of life on Lake Nokoué is "construction on stilts". Dwellings on stilts entirely built in natural material (wood, bamboo, straw, various plants) which are capable of withstanding bad weather and climatic hazards for decades.

Today Lake Ganvié is the most important lakeside city in West Africa and has been on the UNESCO tentative list since 1996. This city is a unique tourist curiosity in Africa, even in the world. Here, all the life of the population takes place on water and revolves around water.

How to discover Ganvié AND Lake Nokoué

Visit Ganvié and the lakeside villages , inhabited by 30,000 people, located in the heart of Lake Nokoué with an area of approximately 339 ha. Lake Nokoué is located about twenty minutes from Cotonou. To discover Ganvié and the lakeside villages, we offer various circuits by motorized canoe accompanied by a guide who will introduce you to the fauna, flora, fishing techniques, history and traditional life of the inhabitants.

Visit Ganvié and the fishing villages

Duration: 6 hours - free picnic

During this journey in a motorized canoe, the guide will make you discover the lakeside village of Ganvié also called the Venice of West Africa, with its floating market, its lovers' street, its house of the Francophonie and its canoes. sailing, then you

cross Lake Nokoué towards the Ouémé river and the town of Aguégués. During this day on Lake Nokoué, you will discover the activities and traditions of the people called the Men of Water in the local language "Toffinou".

OPTION

You can disembark at the port of Porto-Novo and continue your visit to Porto-Novo and Adjarra, our driver will be waiting for you at the pier.

the tourist site of Ganvié by motorized canoe

The bird canal

Duration: 4 hours - free picnic

Your guide Boniface passionate about ornithology will make you discover in a motorized canoe the canal of the morning fishermen, the dormitory of the night herons and other species for the enthusiasts then you

visit the village of Gbessou and its colonial dizziness, the work of women smokers of fish, the village of Houedo Gbadji on stilts, the fish parks, the technique of hawk fishing, you end the tourist circuit by the village So tchanhoue, before to reach the So Ava pier.

The sacred river and the monkey forest

Duration: 7 hours - free picnic

To discover the traditions and the lakeside villages, during 7 hours in a canoe you will go up the So river to discover: the villages of Ahomey de Gblon, Hounmey Lokpo, Zoungomey, Kinto, the sacred river, the forest and its monkeys in Togbota.

Stay in Ganvié, the lakeside village of Lake Nokoué

If you want to immerse yourself in the atmosphere and the life of the inhabitants of Ganvié, we suggest that you stay there, either in a hotel or in a private home.

You will have the opportunity in particular to discover from 4 hours at sunrise, the floating fishermen's market , or attend a traditional dance show (for groups), and discover all the activities of the inhabitants of Lake Nokoué.

Careful management of your request for Ganvié

Sunrise

Duration: 4 hours - breakfast offered

Departure by canoe from the So Ava pier at 6:15 am and discover the sunrise over Lake Nokoué and the awakening of activity, including the floating market on Lake Ganvié.

sales contact: France call center: +33977217817

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Other destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy
Site touristique de Ganvié | visiter Ganvié |villages lacustres Bénin

contact commercial: Centre d'appels France : +33977217817 

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Autres destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

01 BP 02143 Cotonou - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

L'histoire du Lac de Ganvié 

Selon la légende l'origine de Ganvié, est liée aux guerres tribales et aux razzias esclavagistes du XVII siècle. Les premiers habitants sont arrivés du Togo avec leur roi Agbogdobé en 1717. Le roi puissant en Vaudoun, se métamorphosa en épervier, survola la lagune et découvrit l’ile de Ganvié. Ses sujets restés sur la rive ne pouvaient pas passer. Il fit alors une autre magie qui le transforma en crocodile, transportant ainsi ses sujets sur son dos. Depuis le crocodile est sacré à Ganvié !

Plus récemment, la création des communes de Sô-Ava et des Aguégués est le résultat d’un mouvement migratoire de populations ayant conduit au peuplement de la région Sud de l’actuelle République du Bénin. Il s’agit notamment de la migration des Dakomènou et des Sokomènou qui par intervalles plus ou moins rapprochés, ont élu domicile sur le lac Nokoué et environs.

La particularité de la vie sur le lac Nokoué est la « construction sur pilotis ». Les habitations sur pilotis entièrement construites en matériau naturel (bois, bambou, paille, végétaux divers) qui sont capables de résister aux intempéries et aux aléas climatiques pendant des décennies.

Aujourd’hui le lac de Ganvié est la plus importante cité lacustre de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et est inscrite depuis 1996 sur la liste indicative de l’UNESCO. Cette cité est une curiosité touristique unique en Afrique, voire au monde. Ici, toute la vie de la population se déroule sur l’eau et tourne autour de l’eau.

Comment découvrir Ganvié ET LE lac de Nokoué

Visiter Ganvié et les villages lacustres, habités par 30 000 personnes, situés au cœur du Lac Nokoué d’un superficie d’environ 339 ha. Le Lac Nokoué se situe à une vingtaine de minutes de Cotonou. Pour découvrir Ganvié et les villages lacustres, nous proposons différents circuits en pirogue motorisée accompagné d’un guide qui vous présentera la faune, la flore, les techniques de pêche, l’histoire et la vie traditionnelle des habitants.

Visiter Ganvié et les villages des pêcheurs

Durée : 6 heures – piquenique offert

Au cours de ce périple en pirogue motorisée, le guide vous fera découvrir le village lacustre de Ganvié aussi appelé la Venise de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, avec son marché flottant, sa rue des amoureux, sa maison de la francophonie et ses pirogues à voile, puis vous 

traverserez le lac de Nokoué vers le fleuve Ouémé et la commune des Aguégués. Au cours de cette journée sur le lac Nokoué, vous découvrirez les activités et les traditions de la population appelée les Hommes de l’eau en langue locale « Toffinou ».

OPTION 

Vous pouvez débarquer au port de Porto-Novo et poursuite votre visite vers Porto-Novo et Adjarra, notre chauffeur vous attendra au débarcadère.

le site touristique de Ganvié en pirogue motorisée 

Le canal au oiseaux

Durée : 4 heures – piquenique offert

Votre guide Boniface passionné d’ornithologie vous fera découvrir en pirogue motorisée  le canal des matin pécheurs, le dortoir des hérons bihoreaux et d'autres espèces pour les passionnés puis vous 

visiterez  le village Gbessou et ses vertiges coloniaux, le travail des femmes fumeurs de poissons, le village  Houedo Gbadji sur pilotis, les parc à poissons, la technique de pèche à l'épervier, vous terminez le circuit touristique par le  village So tchanhoue, avant de rejoindre  l'embarcadère de So Ava.

La rivière sacrée et la forêt des singes

Durée : 7 heures – piquenique offert

A la découverte des traditions et des villages lacustres, pendant 7 heures en pirogue vous allez remonter la rivière So pour découvrir :  les villages d’ ahomey de gblon, de hounmey lokpo, de  zoungomey, de kinto,  la rivière  sacrée, la forêt et ses singes à Togbota.

Le levé du soleil

Durée : 4 heures –  petit déjeuner offert

Départ en pirogue de l’embarcadère de So Ava à 6 h 15 et découvrez le lever du soleil sur le Lac Nokoué et le réveil de l'activité notamment le marché flottant sur le lac de Ganvié.

Votre devis pour la visite des villages lacustres du lac Nokoué

Demandez le prix de votre visite des villages lacustres du lac Nokoué en pirogue motorisée avec un guide spécialisé. Laissez votre mail et précisez vos préférences. Nous vous garantissons une réponse dans les 12 heures.