facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

how to VISIT ouidah IN BENIN

Ouidah is a town in southern BENIN, Ouidah's story begins with the slave trade, you can travel the slave route, the route that the slaves took to join the ships to the door of no return on the front. from the sea. The Ouidah History Museum , located in the 18th century Portuguese fort, recounts all this history.

Ouidah becomes the cradle of voodoo worship. The Pythons temple is dedicated to the deity of the serpent Dangbé; the sacred forest of Kpassé a small wooded area with sculptures and wood engravings representing voodoo deities. You will meet the spiritual leader and attend a voodoo ceremony if you wish.

Discover voodoo in Benin

Duration: 1 day, with lunch

We offer as part of our excursions to Ouidah, to make you discover voodoo in Benin, if you do not have the opportunity to attend the voodoo party in BENIN which takes place each year on January 10.
As part of this activity, you will have the opportunity to meet the spiritual leader of the voodoo cult, to participate in a voodoo ceremony, to visit the sacred places,

Witness the practice of voodoo in Benin

notably the temple of the pythons , the sacred forest of King Kpassè dominated by huge old trees, accompanied by wooden sculptures representing voodoo deities, convents, and temples.

Duration 1/2 day, with or without lunch

If you do not have the time to devote a day to discovering voodoo in BENIN, we offer a shorter excursion organized around the visit of sacred places, in particular the temple of the pythons and the meeting of the spiritual leader.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

As part of these excursions to Ouidah you are accompanied by one or more approved guides  

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The slave route to the name gate back.

Duration: 4 hours - with or without lunch

The slave trade in Ouidah was extremely intense around the middle of the 18th century. The slave trade was fueled by periodical raids on the fringes of the kingdom of Dahomey for the benefit of the Fons ethnic group. About 60% of the two million Africans sent to the new world have left

from the bay of Benin from Ouidah or Lagos
In Ouidah, you will discover the history of the slave trade which was at the origin of Ouidah and ensured its development and its wealth for several centuries.

Travel for 2 hours the slave route which will lead you from Savi to the door of no return located by the sea, discover the different stages of the slaves from their arrival in Ouidah, to the auction, through the different ceremonies (Tree of oblivion, slave village, Zomaï hut, the cemetery of the slaves, the return tree, until their embarkation on the slave galleys, the excursion is completed by the visit to the historical museum of Ouidah in strong Portuguese.
The excursion is led by licensed guides.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Ouidah's story

Legend has it that the chief Ahoho built in his fields near the Atlantic a country second home to rest there, then under the reign of the eighth king Kpassè of the kingdom of Xwéda a peasant working in his field near the coast saw on the sea a ship. He waved a loincloth tied to the end of a stick. The Portuguese sailors on the ship, having noticed this, sent a boat ashore. This is the first time that we live in the kingdom of white men with red ears.
This is how Ouidah was founded in the 16th century, thanks to the construction of warehouses by Europeans to store goods unloaded from ships. Ouidah very quickly became the economic capital of the small kingdom of Xwéda and the main port on the coast of the Gulf of Benin.
The slave trade ensured the prosperity of the city of Ouidah which became famous for the regularity and intensity of its slave trade. The practice of voodoo worship to condition the slaves before their embarkation on the premises of the door of no return and contributed to the influence of voodoo in BENIN outside the African continent.

Ouidah has become a very popular tourism site in Benin , in particular thanks to its annual voodoo festival, but also to the historical reminder of the slave route.

Request your tailor-made trip to Ouidah

You are planning a trip to Benin in a group, we offer a tailor-made day trip to Ouidah according to your preferred themes. Leave your email in the form above and define your request on Ouidah; we will get back in touch with you within 12 hours to define with you a tailor-made day in Ouidah.

Our approach to organize your trip to Benin

Discovering the Ouidah lagoon

Duration: one day or ½ day, with lunch
The lagoon of Ouidah is separated from the sea by a coastal barrier of fine sand. The Ouidah lagoon is made up of many islands and historic villages. We suggest you visit it by canoe, during this guided tour, you will discover a rich flora, in particular the mangrove, but also the lakeside villages and its welcoming inhabitants, the production of salt, traditional fishing, market gardening. We offer lunch on site to taste local products.

sales contact: France call center: +33977217817

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Other destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy
Visiter Ouidah| musée d'histoire de Ouidah | la route des esclaves

contact commercial: Centre d'appels France : +33977217817 

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Autres destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

01 BP 02143 Cotonou - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

comment VISITER ouidah AU BENIN

Ouidah est une ville du sud du BENIN, L’histoire de Ouidah débute avec la traite négrière, vous pourrez parcourir la route des esclaves, le trajet que les esclaves empruntaient pour rejoindre les navires jusqu’à la porte de non-retour sur le front de mer. Le musée d'Histoire de Ouidah, situé au sein du fort portugais du XVIIIe siècle relate toute cette histoire.

Ouidah devient le berceau du culte vaudou. Le temple des Pythons est dédié à la divinité du serpent Dangbé ; la forêt sacrée de Kpassé une petite zone boisée comportant des sculptures et des gravures en bois représentant des divinités vaudoues. Vous rencontrerez le chef spirituel et assisterez si vous le souhaitez à une cérémonie vodou.

Découvrez le vodoun au bénin

Durée : 1 journée, avec déjeuner 

Nous proposons dans le cadre de nos excursions à Ouidah, de vous faire découvrir le vodoun au bénin, si vous n’avez pas l’occasion d’assister à la fête de vodoun au BENIN qui se déroule chaque année le 10 janvier.
Dans le cadre de cette activité, vous aurez l’occasion de rencontrer le chef spirituel du culte vodou, de participer à une cérémonie vodoun, de visiter les lieux sacrés, 

Assistez à la pratique du vaudou au Bénin

notamment le temple des pythons, la forêt sacrée du Roi Kpassè dominée par de vieux arbres énormes, accompagnés de sculptures en bois représentant des déités vaudou , des couvents,  et des temples. 

Durée 1/2 journée, avec ou sans le déjeuner

Si vous n’avez pas le temps de consacrer une journée à la découverte du vaudou au BENIN, nous vous proposons une excursion plus courte organisée autour de la visite des lieux sacrés, notamment le temple des pythons et de la rencontre du chef spirituel.

Dans le cadre de ces excursions à Ouidah vous êtes accompagnés par un ou plusieurs guides agrées  

La route des esclaves à la porte de nom retour.

Durée : 4 heures – avec ou sans déjeuner

La traite des esclaves à Ouidah fut extrêmement intense vers le milieu du XVIIIe siècle. La traite négrière était alimentée par de périodiques razzias aux marges du royaume du Dahomey au bénéfice de l'ethnie des Fons. Environ 60 % sur les deux millions d'Africains envoyés vers le nouveau monde sont partis 

de la baie du Bénin à partie de Ouidah ou de Lagos 
A Ouidah, vous découvrez l'histoire du commerce négrier qa été à l'origine de Ouidah et a assuré son développement et sa richesse pendant plusieurs siècles. 

Parcourez pendant 2 heures la route des esclaves qui vous conduire de Savi à la porte de non-retour située au bord de la mer, découvrez les différentes étapes des esclaves de leur arrivée à Ouidah, à la vente aux enchères, en passant par les différentes cérémonies (Arbre de l'oubli, village des esclaves , case de Zomaï , le cimetière des esclaves, l'arbre de retour, jusqu’à leur embarquement sur les galères négrières, l’excursion est complétée par la  visite musée historique de Ouidah dans  fort portugais.
L’excursion est dirigée par des guides agréés.

L'histoire de Ouidah 

La légende raconte que le chef Ahoho construisit dans ses champs proches de l’Atlantique une résidence secondaire champêtre pour s’y reposer, puis sous le règne du huitième roi Kpassè du royaume de Xwéda un paysan travaillant dans son champ près de la côte aperçut sur la mer un navire. Il agita un pagne attaché au bout d’un bâton. Les marins portugais du navire, l’ayant remarqué, envoyèrent à terre une barque. C’est la première fois que l’on vit dans le royaume des hommes blancs aux oreilles rouges. 
C’est ainsi que Ouidah a été fondée au XVI ème siècle, grâce à la construction d’entrepôts par les européens pour stocker les marchandises débarquées des bateaux. Ouidah devint très vite le capital économique du petit royaune de Xwéda et le principal port de la côte du Golfe du Bénin.
La traite négrière assure la prospérité de la ville de Ouidah qui devient célèbre par la régularité et l’intensité de son commerce des esclaves. La pratique du culte vodou pour conditionner les esclaves avant leur embarquement sur les lieux de la porte de non-retour et contribua au rayonnent vaudou du BENIN en dehors du continent africain.

 

Ouidah est devenu un site de tourisme au Bénin très fréquenté, notamment grâce à sa fête annuelle du vodoun, mais aussi au rappel historique de la route des esclaves.

Demandez votre voyage sur mesure à Ouidah

Vous prévoyez un voyage au Bénin en groupe, nous vous proposons une journée d’excursion sur mesure à Ouidah suivant vos thèmes de préférence. Laissez votre mail dans le formulaire ci-dessus et définissez votre demande sur Ouidah ; nous reprenons avec vous contact dans les 12 heures pour définir avec vous  une journée sur mesure à Ouidah.

A la découverte la lagune de Ouidah

Durée : une journée ou ½ journée, avec déjeuner 
La lagune de Ouidah est séparée de la mer par un cordon littoral de sable fin. La lagune de Ouidah est constituée de nombreuses iles et de villages historiques. Nous vous proposons de la visiter en pirogue, au cours de cette visite guidée, vous découvrirez une flore riche, notamment la mangrove, mais aussi les villages lacustres et ses habitants accueillants, la production de sel, la pêche traditionnelle, les cultures maraîchères. Nous proposons de déjeuner sur place pour déguster les produits locaux.