facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

As an extension of your safari in the Pendjari Park, you can continue your stay in the Atakora region either from your hotel in Natitingou, or by taking advantage of ecotourism structures installed in a tourist tata somba in the city of Boukoumbé or in a camp located in the villages of Tanéka to discover the traditional activities of the peoples of Somba and Tanéka and their traditional habitat.

What to visit in Natitingou in Atacora in northern Benin?

The Atacora chain is a mountain range located in the North-West of Benin. The Atakora consists of three peaks, Mount Sokbaro the highest point in the country with 658 meters above sea level on the border with Togo, and further south of Natitingou, Mount Tanéka

with 654 meters and finally Mount Birni.

You can go hiking, take a swim in the natural pools and discover the waterfalls , including the Tanongou waterfall which is near the road to Pendjari Park, or the kota waterfall south of Natitingou.

Meet the Somba people and their traditional habitat the Tata Somba

In the surroundings of Natitingou and towards Boukoumbé in the direction of Togo, you can admire the traditional dwellings of the tata somba, a sort of fortified castle consisting of a living room, a kitchen, an internal shower and bedrooms.

The tata somba has several floors, on the ground floor, a mill, a mortar, a living room where animals live (cattle, goats, etc.) and a bed for the head of the family who plays his role of guardian. On the first floor is the kitchen located and serves as a passage for access to the upper terrace. In the middle of this terrace is the room of the mother of the family, and of the children, on the top floor is the attic of the father of the family and that of the mother.

During your stay, the women will introduce you to their traditional women's activities, such as pottery, pipe making, herbal jewelry making, processing sorghum into beer, shea nuts into butter, soy into cheese , néré seeds in mustard, steaming rice.

In the main villages of Tanéka Béri and Tanéka Koko, you will discover the spiritual, cultural, religious and architectural richness of the inhabitants of Tanéka Béri with the spirit box, the places of audiences for each high dignitary, the vaults, the

cemetery of the kings of the Satchéka district, the enthronement hut, the sacred baobab tree.

You will be able to entrust any health problems to the healer and discover the elements that go into the framework of the care, the plants, the minerals, the animal remains, the fire and the deities solicited as spiritual assistance during the practices.

The kingdom of Djougou

Finally, further south of Natintingou about 80 km, discover the YAOU dynasties in the region of Djougou and its surroundings; visit the interior of the palace (queens, princes and princesses, the tombs of the former emperors, the deity of the palace, and learn the history of the founding of the kingdom of Djougou, the three cemeteries of the kingdom, the queen mother, the future queens and the link between the Tanéka kingdom and Djougou.

The duration of our excursions in Atacora will depend on the organization of your trip in the north of Benin.

These excursions are organized by local guides.

  • The excursions can be integrated into a South Benin tour North and you are picked up locally by the guide.

  • If you come to Natitingou by scheduled bus, we can organize excursions from Natitingou.

You will be accommodated in hotels in Natitingou and Djougou, and in ecotourist structures in Boukoumbé (tata-tourisme), and in the Ténéka villages.

Tourist sites in the Atakora region

How are our excursions in the Atacora organized?

Visit the Tanéka at Mount Tanéka

sales contact: France call center: +33977217817

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Other destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org

facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

Dans le prolongement de votre safari dans le parc de la Pendjari, vous pouvez poursuivre votre séjour dans la région de l’Atakora soit à partir de votre hôtel à Natitingou, soit en profitant de structures écotourismes installées dans un tata somba touristique dans la ville de Boukoumbé ou dans un campement situé dans les  villages de Tanéka pour découvrir les activités traditionnelles des peuples de Somba et Tanéka et leur habitat traditionnel.

Que visiter à Natitingou dans l’Atacora au Nord du Bénin ?

La chaîne de l'Atacora, est un massif montagneux situé dans le Nord-Ouest du Bénin. L’Atakora est constitué de trois sommets, le mont Sokbaro le point culminant du pays avec 658 mètres d'altitude à la frontière avec le Togo, et plus au sud de Natitingou, le mont Tanéka

avec 654 mètres et enfin le mont Birni.

Vous pourrez faire des randonnées, prendre un bain dans les piscines naturelles et découvrir les cascades, notamment la cascade  de Tanongou qui se trouve à proximité de la route du parc de la Pendjari, ou la cascade de kota au sud de Natitingou.

A la rencontre du peuple Somba et leur habitat traditionnel le tata somba  

Dans les environs de de Natitingou et vers Boukoumbé en direction du Togo, vous pourrez admirer les habitations traditionnelles le tata somba sorte de  château fort composé d’un séjour, d’une cuisine, d’une douche interne et de chambres à coucher.

Le tata somba dispose de plusieurs étages, au rez de chaussée, un moulin, un mortier, un séjour ou vivent les bêtes (bovin, caprin etc.) et un lit pour le chef de famille qui joue son rôle de gardien. Au premier étage se situe la cuisine située et sert de passage pour l’accès à la terrasse du haut. Au milieu de cette terrasse se trouve la chambre de la mère de famille, et des enfants, au dernier étage se trouve  le grenier du père de famille et celui de la mère.

Lors de votre séjour, les femmes vous feront découvrir leurs activités traditionnelles des femmes, comme la poterie, la fabrication des pipes, la fabrication des bijoux en herbes, la transformation du sorgho en bière, des noix de karité en beurre, du soja en fromage, des graines de néré en moutarde, l’étuvage de riz.

Dans les principaux villages de Tanéka Béri et Tanéka Koko, vous découvrirez la richesse spirituelle, culturelle, cultuelle et architecturale notamment des habitants de Tanéka Béri avec la case à esprits, les places d’audiences pour chaque haut dignitaire, les caveaux, le

cimetière des rois du quartier Satchéka, la case d’intronisation, le baobab sacré.  

Vous pourrez confier vos éventuels problèmes de santé  au guérisseur et découvrez les éléments qui entrent dans le cadre des soins, les plantes, les minéraux, les restes d’animaux, le feu et les divinités sollicitées comme  assistance spirituelle pendant les pratiques.

Le royaume de Djougou

Enfin plus au sud de Natintingou à environ 80 km, découvrez les dynasties YAOU dans la région de Djougou et des environs ; visitez l’intérieur du palais (reines, les princes et princesses, les tombeaux des anciens empereurs, la divinité du palais, et apprenez l’histoire de la fondation du royaume de Djougou, les trois cimetières du royaume, la reine mère, les futures reines et le trait d’union entre le royaume Tanéka et de Djougou.

La durée de nos excursions dans l’Atacora va dépendre de l’organisation de votre voyage dans le nord du Bénin.

Ces excursions sont organisées par des guides locaux.

  • Les excursions peuvent s’intégrer dans un circuit Bénin Sud Nord et vous êtes pris en charge localement par le guide.

  • Si vous venez à Natitingou en bus de ligne, nous pouvons organiser les excursions partir de Natitingou.

Vous serez hébergés dans des hôtels à Natitingou et Djougou, et dans des structures écotouristes à Boukoumbé (tata-touristique), et dans les villages Ténéka.

Les sites touristiques de la région de l’Atakora

Comment sont organisées nos excursions dans l’Atacora ?

Rendez visite aux Tanéka  au mont Tanéka

contact commercial: Centre d'appels France : +33977217817 

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Google+ Icon

Autres destinations

SARL MP-SERVICES au capital social de 675.000 F CFA RCCM: RB COT 17 B 19522 - IFU: 3201710071020

BP 693 ABOMEY CALAVI - BENIN

administration@mp-services.org