facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy

The Pendjari National Park is the largest ecosystem in West Africa and the last great refuge for West African wildlife. You will discover there, elephants, buffaloes, lions, cheetahs, leopards and many other species such as hippos, many species of antelope, and many others, moreover you will be able to observe more than 400 bird species. The development, management and security of the Park have been ensured by the South African NGO African Parks since 2017 which guarantees you an exceptional environment in your safari in Benin.

Presentation of the Pendjari National Park

embleme pendjari.png

African Parks is an NGO specializing in the conservation, rehabilitation and long-term management of national parks in partnership with governments and local communities. The NGO currently manages 15 national parks and protected areas in 9 countries, Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi, Mozambique, Republic of Congo, Rwanda and Zambia, together represent approximately 10.5 million hectares.

In Pendjari, the mission of the NGO aims to protect the last great wilderness of West Africa and its emblematic species, to create the conditions to develop the potential for the park to become a destination. world of wildlife tourism with the aim of bringing economic prosperity to the inhabitants of the region.

To achieve this, African Parks led a global level action, conservation and development of wildlife (the installation of satellite collars on elephants and lions in Pendjari for example), the fight against poaching, the involvement of local populations , the development of surveillance and reception infrastructures for tourists .

Since 2017, the NGO African Parks has invested in modern technological means, in particular in a communication and technology network that covers the entire fleet with centralized information 24 hours a day in an operations coordination center

In addition, the NGO has set up a brigade of rangers of several hundred men to ensure the protection of the fauna and ecosystem of the park. These rangers are trained in the use of firearms, patrolling and tracking methods, navigation, and data collection, communication and first aid operations.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

When the park reopens on October 15, 2019, the objective is to strengthen the safety of tourists visiting the park by providing GPS means in conjunction with the coordination center, and by increasing radio capacities for guides who visit them. accompany.

In addition, surveillance will be reinforced at the border in collaboration with the Beninese soldiers with the aim of collecting as much information as possible on movements in Burkinabè territory to allow the new Director of the Forces of Order to place resources. security in the best places and at the right time. To support all these security actions in the Pendjari park, the NGO is investing in the purchase of a helicopter to support the resources deployed on land.

The safari in the Pendjari national park

The Pendjari Park located in the north-west of Benin, covers an area of 4,800 km² and extends 150 km by 70 km, It is the main park of the W-Arly-Pendjari (WAP) transnational group of 35,000 km², spread between three countries, Benin, Burkina Faso and Niger.

How to access Pendjari park

The Pendjari National Park is located 650 km from Cotonou, 420 km from Ouagadougou and approximately 490 km from Niamey. It has 3 entrances: Porga in the North-West, Batia in the South and Konkombri in the East, the main entrance being that of Batia.

Entry into the park can be done from 6 a.m. and no later than 6 p.m. for the entrance to Batia and 5 p.m. for the entrances to Porga and Konkombri (night driving is prohibited inside the park. ).

Safari periods in Benin in the Pendjari park

The park is closed from late August to mid-October.

Depending on the month of your visit, the park of Pendajari Park offers different aspects:

During the dry period:

  • From November to January in places, the grasses are tall and yellowed

  • From February to May, the grasses are burnt and the field of vision is wider, during this period the fauna gather around the water points which facilitates observation.

  • Finally from May to July, we observe a carpet of greenery which extends to all points of the park with also an appreciable field of vision.

The high water period lasts from the end of July to the end of October, there are tall green grasses whose flowering produces various natural scents.

During your stay in the park , the best times of day for animal watching are very early in the morning at sunrise or in the late afternoon i

What African fauna you will observe in Pendjari Park

First of all, La Pendjari is a privileged place for ornithologists with more than 460 species of birds. Bird watching is particularly good in January - February and June.

You observe the species of wild fauna of the West African savannah such as the elephant, the buffalo, the lion, and endangered species in West Africa such as the cheetah which is the emblem of the park as well as the damalisque one of the antelope species .

You will also observe the red monkeys, slender and slender, the patas with the long limbs, the close eyes surmounted by long eyebrows or the small vervet with the green bronze coat Lively and agile or the Baboon.

Watchtowers around the ponds will allow you to admire the aquatic life of crocodiles and hippos.

Presentation of African Parks and its actions for Pendjari

Your safety in Pendjari park

facebook-domain-verification=rwm6e2ejmfhbkad1dwy8e1r1p5gzpy
Pendjari |Sécurité parc Pendjari |faire un safari |African Parks

Le parc national de la Pendjari est le plus grand écosystème de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et le dernier grand refuge pour la faune de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Vous y découvrirez, des éléphants, des buffles, des lions, des guépards, des léopards et de nombreuses autres espèces comme l’hippopotames, de nombreuses espèces d’antilopes, et bien d’autres encore, de plus vous pourrez observer  plus de 400 espèces d'oiseaux. Le développement, la gestion et la sécurité, du Parc sont assurés par l’ONG sud-africaine African Parks depuis 2017 qui vous garantit un environnement d’exception dans votre safari au Bénin.

Présentation du parc national de la Pendjari

embleme pendjari.png

African Parks est une ONG spécialisée dans la conservation, la réhabilitation et de la gestion à long terme des parcs nationaux en partenariat avec les gouvernements et les communautés locales. L’ONG gère actuellement 15 parcs nationaux et zones protégées dans 9 pays, le Bénin, la République centrafricaine, le Tchad, la République démocratique du Congo, le Malawi, le Mozambique, la République du Congo, le Rwanda et la Zambie, l’ensemble représente environ 10,5 millions d'hectare.

A la Pendjari, la mission de l’ONG a pour objectif de protéger la dernière grande étendue sauvage de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et ses espèces emblématiques, de créer les conditions afin de développer le potentiel pour que le parc devienne une destination mondiale du tourisme animalier dans le but d’apporter la prospérité économique des habitants de la région.

Pour atteindre cet objectif, African Parks conduit une action globale au niveau, de la conservation et développement de la faune sauvage (la pose de colliers satellites sur des éléphants et des lions à la Pendjari par exemple), de la lutte contre le braconnage, de l’implication des populations locales, le développement des infrastructures de surveillance et d’accueil pour les touristes.  

Depuis 2017, l’ONG African Parks a investi dans des moyens technologiques modernes, en particulier dans un réseau de communication et de technologie qui couvrent l’ensemble du parc avec une information centralisée 24 heures sur 24 dans un centre de coordination des opérations

De plus l’ONG s’est dotée d’une une brigade de rangers de plusieurs centaines d’hommes pour assurer la protection de la faune et écosystème du parc. Ces rangers sont formés à l'utilisation des armes à feu, aux méthodes de patrouille et de suivi, à la navigation, et à la collecte de données, à la communication et aux opérations de premiers secours.

A la réouverture du parc au 15 octobre 2019 l’objectif est de renforcer la sécurité des touristes fréquentant le parc par la fourniture de moyens  GPS en liaison avec le centre de coordination, et par l’augmentation des capacités radios à destination des guides qui les accompagnent.

Par ailleurs, la surveillance sera renforcée au niveau de la frontière en collaboration avec des militaires béninois avec pour objectif de recueillir le plus d’informations sur les mouvements dans le territoire Burkinabè pour permettre au nouveau Directeur des Forces de l’Ordre de  placer les  ressources de sécurité aux meilleurs endroits et au bon moment. Pour soutenir toutes ces actions de sécurisation dans le parc de la Pendjari, l’ONG investit dans l’achat d’un hélicoptère pour venir en soutient aux ressources déployées sur terre.

Le safari dans le parc national de la Pendjari

Le parc de la Pendjari situé au nord-ouest du Bénin, couvre une superficie de 4.800 km² et s’étend de 150 km sur 70 km, Il est le parc principal de l’ensemble transnational W-Arly-Pendjari (WAP) de 35.000 km², répartis entre trois pays, le Bénin, le Burkina Faso et le Niger.

Comment accéder au parc Pendjari

Le Parc National de la Pendjari est situé à 650 km de Cotonou, à 420 km de Ouagadougou et à environ 490 km de Niamey. Il dispose de 3 entrées : Porga au Nord-Ouest, Batia au Sud et Konkombri à l’Est, l’entrée principale étant celle de Batia.

L’entrée dans le parc peut se faire dès 6 H du matin et au plus tard à  18 H pour l’entrée de Batia et 17 H pour les entrées de Porga et Konkombri (la conduite de nuit étant interdite à l’intérieur du parc).

Les périodes de safari au Bénin dans le parc du Pendjari

Le parc est fermé de fin Août à Mi-Octobre.

En fonction du mois de votre visite, le parc du parc Pendajari offre des aspects différents :

Pendant la période sèche :

  • De Novembre à Janvier par endroit, les herbes sont hautes et jaunies

  • De Février à Mai, les herbes sont brûlées et le champ de vision est plus large, à cette période la faune se regroupe autour des points d’eau ce qui facilite l’observation.

  • Enfin de Mai à Juillet, on observe un tapis de verdure qui s’étend en tout point du parc avec aussi un champ de vision appréciable.

Le période des hautes eaux s’étale de fin juillet à fin octobre, on observe de hautes herbes vertes dont la floraison produit divers parfums naturels.

Pendant votre séjour dans le parc, Les meilleurs moments de la journée pour l’observation des animaux sont très tôt le matin au lever du soleil ou en  fin d’après-midi

Quelle faune africaine vous allez observer dans le Parc Pendjari

Toute d’abord, La Pendjari est un endroit privilégié  pour les ornithologues avec plus de 460 espèces d'oiseaux. L'observation des oiseaux est particulièrement bonne en janvier - février et en juin.

Vous observez les espèces de la faune sauvage de la savane ouest africaine telles que l’éléphant, le buffle, le lion, et de espèces menacées en Afrique de l’Ouest comme le guépard qui est l'emblème du parc ainsi que le damalisque l’une des espèces d’antilope.

Vous observerez également, les singes rouge, élancé et svelte, le patas aux membres longs, les yeux rapprochés surmontés de longs sourcils ou le petit  vervet au pelage vert bronze Vif et agile ou encore le Babouin.

Des miradors autour des mares,  vous permettront d’admirez la vie aquatique des crocodiles, des  hippopotames. 

Présentation de African Parks et de ses actions pour la Pendjari

Votre sécurité dans le parc du Pendjari